Letter from May 19

Hola Hola hola!!!!!
This week was just plain crazy but it was good too. I feel like I am learning and growing every day and couldn’t be happier. It is so awesome! I love being able to be 100% focused and dedicated to this work. It is so awesome! Primero, Muchisimas Gracias to Sister Hulme for the postcard and to Mama Diane for the awesome package. I am so excited to you my new conference ensign and study the words of the prophets and the card definitely held me over on Sunday during our meetings and such. It was perfect!
 
So this week started off a little rough. We were supposed to meet with a potential investigator named Josh. We met him when we stopped by a member’s work for lunch. He was there and gave us his phone number right away and told us he would love to have us visit. We planned to meet with him on Tuesday. He then texted us and asked us to bring board games. We were a little concerned that he didn’t really understand our purpose in visiting him. He didn’t. But, before we had a chance to visit him, we found out that he lived outside of our area. I think it was actually a blessing in disguise. We sent the elders to him. He didn’t sound too interested in that but maybe they will touch his heart. Anyway, that got us down a bit because we were really excited to teach him. Then, we bunch of people cancelled so Tuesday started with some discouragement. However, there was a bright shiny moment to the day when we started our English Classes at the church and 2 investigators came and 4 less-active members came. It was so exciting to have them all in the church, all so eager to learn. That definitely made my day! I was so excited to be teaching English and I think it is something so wonderful that we get to do.
 
The rest of the week went much better. On Thursday, Melvin had his baptismal interview and it went great! Simultaneously, we were teaching his cousin Robin. This wouldn’t have been a problem except this interview was being conducted in the kitchen and we were sitting in the living room, which is essentially one room. It was so hard to try and focus on the lesson as I hear the interview in the background. Then to add to the chaos, my other zone leaders started to translate what I was saying into English so the member that was with us could understand. He was doing a great job and it was very nice of him but it was definitely the most stressful lesson of my life. However, miracles happen! During that lesson, I was able to commit Robin to being baptized on June 22. I was so excited! It was such a neat experience, even though it was really challenging and I am so glad that Robin was able to feel the spirit, even though it was a really chaotic lesson. Heavenly Father is so amazing. I also think it will be the best birthday present in the world to be able to have Robin baptized the day before my birthday. I really hope I am still here to be able to see it happen.
 
We also started teaching Liz this week. She hasn’t come to church in 5 years and came last Sunday. She is so sweet and I just love her. I feel like we can really support her and make an impact in her life. I am excited excited to be working with her. She has the cutest son and it is so fun going to visit her.
 
We visited Grandma Nichols this week. She mentioned that she didn’t want to live to be 100. (She is 93). I told her she had to stick around for quite a bit longer because I want her to come to my wedding. She asked if I had a boyfriend. I said no. She said, “Maybe you go to byu and get a boyfriend after your mission.” I laughed. I love Grandma Nichols. She is so wise.
 
So the definite highlight of this week was the BAPTISM!!!!!! Melvin was baptized yesterday and it was awesome! I was so so happy for him. I think the best moment for me about the experience was when we visited him on Friday just to make sure everything was set for the baptism. He just talked and talked about how he felt this was God’s plan for him and how grateful he was that we taught him. He said he was grateful for Sister Mangum too and the spirit that he felt and feels when he is around us. He was just so full of joy and I almost started laughing I was so excited. Now, he is a baptized member. He will be confirmed next sunday and he just seems so happy. I am so excited for him and I know he will be such a great example to Robin as he prepares to be baptized. I am so grateful for the chance to be apart of this experience for Melvin and I am so glad that he made this decision. I know it will bring so much joy and happiness into his life.
 
Later on Sunday, we visited Sharon. She said that she had been thinking about us and didn’t seem at all surprised when we came over. It was great! We committed her to read a chapter in the Book of Mormon and we know that it will help her with her desire to seek truth. She is so sweet. I love her so much!
 
At the end of the day on Sunday, we visited with Patty, Roxie and her husband, and their brother Cody and his family. We read 2 Nephi 31 together and it was so neat. The spirit was so strong and I think we all left feeling uplifted. We are still working with Roxie and hoping that she will be done smoking by no later than June 23. (That is what I told her that I wanted for my birthday and she seemed on board). It was a great lesson and I think it really helped everyone. I hope it did. We were glad to be able to end the week that way.
 
We also ended up getting 8 lessons on Saturday with a total of 30 this week. I feel so blessed because I wasn’t very optimistic after Monday and Tuesday but miracles happen!
 
Oh, and a fun little tidbit. I spent almost 2 hours chopping up meat at Caring Ministries on Friday. They needed some help and we are always looking for ways to serve. It was the weirdest service project I have ever done but that’s okay. Thought you would get a kick out of picturing me slicing raw meat while discussing what we learned in personal study that morning. haha.
 
Well, I love you all. I probably wont be on next Monday because it is memorial day but I should probably be on next Tuesday. Things are going great. Thanks for the prayers and support. I love you tons! Have a great week! The church is true! The Book of Mormon is the word of God. I am so grateful for the chance to be a missionary.
Se que baustismo es el primer paso para seguir JesuCristo! Se que el Espiritu Santo es REAL!
 
Con todo el amor de mi Corazon,
Hermana Mehner

Leave a comment